Recommended Databases
In order to access these resources off-campus, you must first authenticate using your username and password. This is the same username and password used for your email, BlackBoard, and MyCleveland.
- ABC-CLIO E-book Collection This link opens in a new window
History & Literature eBooks, including the series Daily Life, Critical Companions, and Literature in Context.
- Arts & Humanities Database ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
- Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
- Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Britannica Image Quest provides access to over two million rights-cleared images for use in presentations, online courses, and student projects.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A giant online collection that searches hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos.
- Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts places millions of articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. - Humanities, Social Issues and Religions This link opens in a new window
A collection of titles that provide additional perspectives on social issues and religions when cross-searched with Literature content in Artemis Literary Sources - Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies analyzes and contributes to popular culture by offering useful information for researchers in social science, history, art, and liberal arts courses. - Proquest Central This link opens in a new windowGeneral reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
- Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowA searchable collection of online reference books.
For a complete listing of databases available through the Jim and Patsy Rose library, as well as tutorials for using those databases, please visit the Databases page.
Credo Reference helps you start your research in arts and leisure studies with overviews of art history, music, pop culture, and sports, along with biographies of key artists and performers.
Print Journals
The following print journals can be found in the Art Department.
- ArtForum International
- Artists Magazine
- Modern Painters
