Suggested Databases
In order to access these resources off-campus, you must first authenticate using your username and password. This is the same username and password used for your email, BlackBoard, and MyCleveland.
- Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
- CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, the U.S. economy, and more.
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature is an integrated research experience that brings together Gale’s premier literary databases. This unique digital environment allows researchers of all levels to find a starting point, search across a wide array of materials and points in time, and discover new ways to analyze information with literature resources online. - Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Global Issues offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. - Humanities, Social Issues and Religions This link opens in a new window
A collection of titles that provide additional perspectives on social issues and religions when cross-searched with Literature content in Artemis Literary Sources - Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements. - LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature: LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 130,000 full-text poems and 650,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more. - Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. - SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new windowResearch the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.
Credo Reference helps you start your research in literature with reference guides to historical and contemporary authors, their times, and their works.
For a complete listing of databases available through the Jim and Patsy Rose library, as well as tutorials for using those databases, please visit the Databases page.
Databases by Topic
- Business Link North Carolina - Programs and resources that are designed to improve the profitability of companies.
- ProQuest Entrepreneurship Database - Information for entrepreneurs and researchers that includes business start-up plans, video clips, journals, business cases, and more.
- ReferenceUSA - Business and consumer research platform helps you create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, raise funds, and locate people. Modules include: US Businesses, US White Pages, US Healthcare, Canadian Businesses, Canadian White Pages, US New Businesses, US New Movers/New Homeowners, US Consumers/Lifestyles, and US Jobs/Internships.
- Wall Street Journal - Full articles from the Wall Street Journal (1981-current).
- CQ Researcher Online - Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context - Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
- SIRS Issues Researcher - Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.
- Diversity Studies - Gale OneFile - Diversity Studies prepares researchers for social science, history, and liberal arts coursework. This collection explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
- ProQuest Family Health Database - Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics, such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry.
- ProQuest Health & Medical Collection - Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
- ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database - Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
- ProQuest Public Health Database - This database provides access to the core literature in the field of public health.
- Biography In Context - Biography in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
- Credo Reference - A giant online collection that searches hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos.
- US History In Context - U.S. History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
- World History In Context - World History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
- Literature Resource Center - Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
- ABC-CLIO E-book Collection - History & literature e-books, including the series Daily Life, Critical Companions, and Literature in Context
- International Newsstream - International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
- Wall Street Journal - Full articles from the Wall Street Journal (1981-current).
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context - Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
- ProQuest Psychology Database - Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
- ProQuest Research Library - General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.
