LibGuides: Religion: Databases

Research Companion Videos

ProQuest Research Companion Videos
ProQuest Research Companion takes users to a series of short videos that explains each step in the research process. Focus and review questions accompany each video. Users may create a free account if they would like to monitor their progress as they move through the modules.

Suggested Databases

In order to access these resources off-campus, you must first authenticate using your username and password. This is the same username and password used for your email, BlackBoard, and MyCleveland.

Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Britannica Academic Edition Online This link opens in a new window
This link provides access to the Encyclopedia Britannica's content with added features including multimedia.
Humanities, Social Issues & Religions This link opens in a new window
A collection of titles that provide additional perspectives on social issues and religions when cross-searched with Literature content in Artemis Literary Sources
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Religion & Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy covers topics of philosophies and religions in one comprehensive collection. Researchers will gain valuable insight about the impact religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily, Religion and Philosophy supports a broad range of topics from theological approaches to social issues.
Religion Database ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history and related archaeology.
Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of online reference books.

For a complete listing of databases available through the Jim and Patsy Rose library, as well as tutorials for using those databases, please visit the Databases page.