LibGuides: Sociology: Databases

Suggested Databases

In order to access these resources off-campus, you must first authenticate using your username and password. This is the same username and password used for your email, BlackBoard, and MyCleveland.

Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Britannica Academic Edition Online This link opens in a new window
This link provides access to the Encyclopedia Britannica's content with added features including multimedia.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, the U.S. economy, and more.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A giant online collection that searches hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: Research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. This database includes topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Gale: Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies analyzes and contributes to popular culture by offering useful information for researchers in social science, history, art, and liberal arts courses.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Research Companion This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: Award winning , cloud-based information literacy solution that will guide students through research projects efficiently.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
ProQuest: An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

For a complete listing of databases available through the Jim and Patsy Rose library, as well as tutorials for using those databases, please visit the Databases page.