LibGuides: History: American History

Books on American History

Thunder at the Gates by Douglas R. Egerton
Call Number: E 492.9 .E35 2016
ISBN: 9780465096640
Publication Date: 2016-11-01
In Thunder at the gates, Douglas R. Egerton chronicles the formation and exploits of the 54th and 55th Massachusetts Infantry and the 5th Massachusetts Cavalry -- regiments led by whites but composed of black men born free or into slavery.
Native Americans: a Captivating Guide to Native American History and the Trail of Tears, Including Tribes Such As the Cherokee, Muscogee Creek, Seminole, Chickasaw, and Choctaw Nations by Captivating History
Call Number: E 77 .N385 2018
ISBN: 9781729581698
Publication Date: 2018-10-25
Propaganda has always played a crucial role in turning tides and swaying opinion, and in few places is that more pronounced than in the wholesale slaughter of the native peoples in both North and South America.
When some of the people of European descent could not get what they wanted from the Native Americans, they would demonize or dehumanize them so that the American people would clamor for government intervention. This is, for example, evident by analyzing Andrew Jackson's speech to Congress on Indian removal where he would refer to the Native Americans as savages.
Those Turbulent Sons of Freedom by Christopher S. Wren
Call Number: E 263 .V5 W74 2018
ISBN: 9781416599555
Publication Date: 2018-05-08
In Those Turbulent Sons of Freedom, Wren overturns the myth of Ethan Allen as a legendary hero of the American Revolution and a patriotic son of Vermont and offers a different portrait of Allen and his Green Mountain Boys.

Videos

Tuskegee Airmen
Call Number: D 810 .T87 2003
ISBN: 0841887050883
The struggle of America's first African American fighter pilots is explored as narrator Ossie Davis tells the inspiring tale of the brave Tuskegee Airmen and the bold steps they took to prove they had the skills and abilities to take to the skies and defend their nation. -Jason Buchanan, Rovi All Movie Guide
Unchained Memories: readings from the slave narratives
Call Number: E 444 .U53 2003

Databases

In order to access these resources off-campus, you must first authenticate using your username and password. This is the same username and password used for your email, BlackBoard, and MyCleveland.

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
History & Literature eBooks, including the series Daily Life, Critical Companions, and Literature in Context.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile connects learners to the information they’re looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Britannica Academic Edition Online This link opens in a new window
This link provides access to the Encyclopedia Britannica's content with added features including multimedia.
Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Britannica Image Quest provides access to over two million rights-cleared images for use in presentations, online courses, and student projects.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A giant online collection that searches hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos.
Humanities, Social Issues & Religions This link opens in a new window
A collection of titles that provide additional perspectives on social issues and religions when cross-searched with Literature content in Artemis Literary Sources
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies analyzes and contributes to popular culture by offering useful information for researchers in social science, history, art, and liberal arts courses.
U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: U.S. History contains scholarly journals and magazines that can be used by novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. Updated daily, U.S. History offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.
U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new window
U.S. History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
War & Terrorism This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism contains millions of articles to help researchers gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This definitive collection is intended for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science.

Websites

50 States
This website allows users to choose a state to learn about it geography, people, and customs.
Abortion: Pros & Cons
American History
This site is owned and maintained by the Independence Hall Association in Philadelphia, founded 1942. It covers the whole scope of American history, from Pre-Columbian to the New Millennium, with input from professional historians.
Conservative or Liberal Quiz
Conservative vs. Liberal Beliefs
The Constitution of the United States of America
Death Penalty: Pros & Cons
The Declaration of Independence
Dolph Briscoe Center for American History
A history research center that collects, preserves, and makes available documentary and material culture evidence encompassing key themes in U.S. history
Euthanasia: Pros & Cons
The Evolution of American Federalism
This video explores American Federalism from 1937 - present.
History Channel - American Revolution
This site highlights the events of the American Revolution.
Political Spectrum Quiz
This poll helps you determine your place on the political spectrum.
Political Typology Quiz
Are you a Core Conservative? A Solid Liberal? Or somewhere in between? Take our quiz to find out which one of our Political Typology groups is your best match compared with a nationally representative survey of more than 5,000 U.S. adults by Pew Research Center.
Slavery in America
This site was originally created in support of the PBS series SLAVERY AND THE MAKING OF AMERICA, produced by Thirteen/WNET New York and sponsored by New York Life Insurance Company. The series premiered in February 2004.
United States Constitution - 4th Amendment
United States Constitution - 5th Amendment
United States Supreme Court Cases
Welcome to FindLaw's searchable database of U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1760.
The US 50
This website allows users to explore the history, geography, and people of the United States.