LibGuides: History: Women's History

Books on Women's History

While it is possible to find information on famous women in the history sections highlighted on the first page of this research guide, students who are interested in women's history would also benefit from looking in the sociology section HQ 1-2044 which covers family, marriage and women.

Catherine the Great: portrait of a woman by Robert K. Massie
Call Number: DK 170 .M34 2011
ISBN: 9780679456728
The Pulitzer Prize–winning author of Peter the Great, Nicholas and Alexandra, and The Romanovs returns with another masterpiece of narrative biography, the extraordinary story of an obscure young German princess who traveled to Russia at fourteen and rose to become one of the most remarkable, powerful, and captivating women in history.
Cleopatra the Great: the woman behind the legend by Joann Fletcher
Call Number: DT 92.7 .F560 2011
ISBN: 9780060585587
World-renowned Egyptologist Joann Fletcher offers an extraordinary look at one of Egypt's most intriguing leaders—the legendary Cleopatra. In the tradition of biographies by Stacy Shiff, Duane Roller, and Adrian Goldsworthy, and drawing on astonishing new evidence about Cleopatras life—including tax records, personal correspondence, and the discovery of her palace quarters beneath the Mediterranean Sea—Fletcher presents Cleopatras life in glorious detail, revealing the woman behind the myths.
Madame Fourcade's Secret War by Lynne Olson
Call Number: D 810 .S8 O4765 2019
ISBN: 9780812994766
Publication Date: 2019-03-05
In 1941 a thirty-one-year-old Frenchwoman, a young mother born to privilege and known for her beauty and glamour, became the leader of a vast intelligence organization--the only woman to serve as a chef de résistance during the war. Strong-willed, independent, and a lifelong rebel against her country's conservative, patriarchal society, Marie-Madeleine Fourcade was temperamentally made for the job. Her group's name was Alliance, but the Gestapo dubbed it Noah's Ark because its agents used the names of animals as their aliases. No other French spy network lasted as long or supplied as much crucial intelligence--including providing American and British military commanders with a 55-foot-long map of the beaches and roads on which the Allies would land on D-Day--as Alliance. The Gestapo pursued them relentlessly, capturing, torturing, and executing hundreds of its three thousand agents.
The League of Wives by Heath Lee
Call Number: DS 559.4 .L44 2019
ISBN: 9781250161109
Publication Date: 2019-04-02
The true story of the fierce band of women who battled Washington--and Hanoi--to bring their husbands home from the jungles of Vietnam.
The Women Who Shaped Politics by Sophy Ridge
Call Number: HQ 1236.5 .G7 R54 2017
ISBN: 9781473638778
Publication Date: 2018-07-17
Exclusive interviews with current MPs including the Prime Minister, Theresa May, allow Sophy to present a contemporary and interesting account of the women who have changed the face of government. Sophy provides gripping insight into historical and contemporary stories which will fascinate not just those interested in politics but those who want to know more about women's vital role in democracy.
Rise of the Rocket Girls by Nathalia Holt
Call Number: TL 862 .J48 H65 2016
ISBN: 9780316338929
Publication Date: 2016-04-05
The riveting true story of the women who launched America into space. In the 1940s and 50s, when the newly minted Jet Propulsion Laboratory needed quick-thinking mathematicians to calculate velocities and plot trajectories, they didn't turn to male graduates. Rather, they recruited an elite group of young women who, with only pencil, paper, and mathematical prowess, transformed rocket design, helped bring about the first American satellites, and made the exploration of the solar system possible.

Videos

Gorillas in the Mist
Call Number: PN 1995.9 .D7 G672 1999
ISBN: 0783233523
Based on the true story of young anthropologist Dian Fossey who travels to the African mountains to study rare mountain gorillas. Rated PG-13.
Elizabeth
Call Number: PN 1997 .E4392 2003
Iron Lady
Call Number: PN 1997.2 .I76 2012
ISBN: B0059XTUVI
A surprising and intimate portrait of Margaret Thatcher, the first and only female Prime Minister of the United Kingdom. Rated PG-13.
Young Victoria
Call Number: PN 1997.2 .Y68 2010
ISBN: 143599633X
A dramatization of the turbulent first years of Queen Victoria's rule, and her enduring romance with Prince Albert. Rated PG.

Databases

In order to access these resources off-campus, you must first authenticate using your username and password. This is the same username and password used for your email, BlackBoard, and MyCleveland.

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
History & Literature eBooks, including the series Daily Life, Critical Companions, and Literature in Context.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile connects learners to the information they’re looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Britannica Academic Edition Online This link opens in a new window
This link provides access to the Encyclopedia Britannica's content with added features including multimedia.
Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Britannica Image Quest provides access to over two million rights-cleared images for use in presentations, online courses, and student projects.
Humanities, Social Issues & Religions This link opens in a new window
A collection of titles that provide additional perspectives on social issues and religions when cross-searched with Literature content in Artemis Literary Sources
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies analyzes and contributes to popular culture by offering useful information for researchers in social science, history, art, and liberal arts courses.

Websites

National Women's Hall of Fame
At the National Women’s Hall of Fame, our mission all day, every day is “Showcasing great women…Inspiring all!”
National Women's History Project
Multicultural American women are overlooked in most mainstream approaches to U.S. history, so the National Women’s History Project champions their accomplishments and leads the drive to write women back into history. Recognizing the achievements of women in all facets of life – science, community, government, literature, art, sports, medicine – has a huge impact on the development of self-respect and new opportunities for girls and young women.
Women in World History
This unique site is full of information and resources to help you learn about women’s history in a global context. Here teachers, students, parents, history buffs, and the interested public can find information on the following topics. (Permission is granted for the reproduction of information on this website by teachers for their classroom use only.)